Labour Council Elects New Executive

St. Catharines & District Labour Council Elects New Executive

Larry Savage, a Professor of Labour Studies and Political Science at Brock University and member of the Brock University Faculty Association, was elected President of the St. Catharines & District Labour Council in November 2007

Before starting full-time at Brock University in 2006, Savage was Chief Steward of CUPE local 4207, worked as an organizer for UNITE HERE's Ontario council, and served as a constituency assistant to Welland MPP Peter Kormos.

He is the co-author of a book entitled Confrontation, Struggle and Transformation: Organized Labour in the St. Catharines Area, and is actively engaged in labour movement research.
Savage, 30, is the youngest President in the Council's history. He replaces Sue Hotte, who served as Labour Council President for seven years. She did not seek re-election.

The St. Catharines & District Labour Council is the largest central labour body in Niagara. It combines the strength of dozens of local unions representing thousands of working women and men in virtually every sector of the local economy. Its mandate is to organize and advocate on issues that are vital to working people throughout the region, and to carry out local campaigns for the Canadian Labour Congress.

Meet the Labour Council's new executive:

President: Larry Savage (BUFA)
1st Vice-President: Bruce Allen (CAW)
2nd Vice-President: Sharon Shearing (USW)
Secretary: Diane Cormier (CUPE)
Sgt-at-Arms: Serge Valcourt (OPSEU)
Members-at-Large: Dan Crown (CUPE)
Elizabeth Ferretti (CAW)
Jonah Butovsky (BUFA)
Mohammad Nazir (CAW)
Tim Fowler (CUPE)
Ethan Clarke (UNITE HERE)